Preksha Preneta Acharya Shri Mahapragya

Name: Acharya Shri Mahapragya
Birth date: 14 June 1920
Birth place: Tamkor, Rajasthan, India
Name of parents: Sh. Tola Ram Choradiya, Smt. Balu
Original Name: Nath Mal Chauradiya
Designated Acharya: 5th February 1995

Acharya Shri Mahapragya (14 June 1920 – 9 May 2010) was the tenth Acharya, supreme head of the Svetambar Terapanth sect of Jainism. Mahapragya was a highly venerable saint, yogi, spiritual leader, philosopher, author, orator, poet. Many of his books and articles were published under the former name Muni Nathmal.

He began his life of religious reflection and development as a Jain monk at the age of ten. Mahapragya played a major role in Anuvrat movement launched by his Guru Acharya Tulsi in 1949, and became the acknowledged leader of the movement in 1995. Acharya Mahapragya formulated the well organized Preksha meditation system in the 1970s, and developed the “Science of Living” education system which is a practical approach for the balanced development of a student and his character building.

He traversed more than 100,000 km on foot covering more than 10,000 villages reaching out to the masses spreading the message of harmony and peace. He walked across the length and breadth of India From Kutch District in Gujarat to Kolkata and from Punjab to Kanyakumari. Mahapragya undertook this travel under the leadership of Acharya Tulsi and later with himself being the leader. During these travels, he addressed thousands of public meetings. Mahapragya is an apostle of nonviolence. He launched the Ahimsa Yatra movement in 2001 which continued until 2009 to promote non-violence and harmony. Followers refer to him as Gurudev, which mean the Godly Teacher.His discourses were telecasted daily on Indian television.